Willow Garage ROS- Robot Operating System Reviews

4.6/5 (8) Write a review!

Ranked Nr. 13 of 61 Robot Software

See all 61 Robot Software

WRITE A REVIEW!
checkmark
  • Overall

    4.6/5 (8)

Write Review

Mohan Raj Nadarajan

SR Privtae Limited

Nov 26, 2022

  • Overall

    4/5

  • Meet Requirements

    4/5

  • Easy to Use

    4/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    5/5

  • Quality of Support

    4/5

  • Compatibility

    3/5

  • Value for Money

    4/5

  • Recommendation

    4/5

Period
  • 2021
Title
I wanted to create a simulator for the existing robot, so that I can use the physic engine to get real time simulation of robot. I have created the Unified robot description of the robot which I wanted to duplicate and then deployed it on the ROS platform. To create the URDF format of robot, there are extensions available in the Solidworks or other 3D CAD softwares. The physic engine will be used by all developers for the development of real time sofware. This will not only help the developers but also support customers to validate the field devices before hand in an integrated environment.
Pro
The most interestig part is that this is not just a software, it is a middleware with multiple functions and is able to perform all types of operations required for a real time software field device replication. This supports domain specific language. So the domain specific compoenents can be created before hand and is used to integrate between different components. The most intergrate part is Quality of Service (QoS) which can be used to qualify the components and their integartion. This helps to ensure the compatibility between multiple components and produce an abstract model beforehand.
Con
Robot Operating System is over structed. To run a simple sketch, it requires lot of efforts to create multiple ROS Nodes and try to integrate them with ROS topics. It's very useful for complex systems, but for simple systems, it is very complicated. It requires efforts to learn the architecture and all commands for troubleshooting. It would be great if there is a virtual assistant just like text editor. But everything is to done by developer. A fresher needs to spend lot of effort to launch a simple script and it's time consuming. There are many options which are fully utilized by a typical ROS engineer. So the user perspetive should be considered.
Robot
Kawasaki Robot. NTS 10

Stefano Aldini

University of Technology Sydney

Nov 13, 2022

  • Overall

    5/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    5/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    5/5

  • Quality of Support

    5/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    5/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2021
Title
I used ROS to implement software for multiple robots and applications, in the industry and in academia. From firmware to high-level software, this open-source meta-operating system has the libraries and packages to help software development for most robot applications.
Pro
Thanks to the massive community behind ROS and how widely used this system is, there are plenty of developed and maintained packages to support new software development. The tutorials for beginners are also easy to follow. Moreover, it is straightforward to integrate drivers or external libraries with ROS.
Con
I cannot think of any cons.
Robot
Universal Robots and Comau. I also used ROS to work with some sensors, such as RealSense cameras and Leap Motion sensors.

Sanket Palchaudhary

SVIT Vasad

Nov 10, 2022

  • Overall

    5/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    5/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    5/5

  • Quality of Support

    5/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    5/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2021
Title
Implemented a pick and place robot using a Techman TMR700 robot. The robot was programmed to pick objects from Marker 1 and place it on Marker 2 within certain range of error. Created various different launch packages and scripts to initiate and launch various different nodes together using ROS Kinetic, then Melodic and Noetic.
Pro
The ease of use and interconnectivity available and the huge number of pre-created packages which can be used for a wide variety of functions. The humongous library of documentation and support available in the ROS community which guides a beginner throughout their journey of implementing their first project.
Con
Ideal to use only on Ubuntu, although few distros are now available for windows but Ubuntu still produces the best results.
Robot
Techman TMR700

Marzan Alam

Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology

Nov 8, 2022

  • Overall

    4.7/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    5/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    4/5

  • Quality of Support

    4/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    5/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • selectYear
  • 2022
Title
Medical Robot for reducing interaction between Patients and Doctor
Pro
Package availability Modularity
Con
No Con
Robot
Custom made mobile robot

Thuvaraga Krishnarajah

Roshai Pvt Ltd

Nov 5, 2022

  • Overall

    4.7/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    5/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    4/5

  • Quality of Support

    5/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    4/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2022
Title
Home assistant robot - ros melodic Agriculture vehicle prototype - ROS melodic Autonomous vehicle - Ros2 humble Teaching and learning purposes - ROS neotic and ROS2 foxy
Pro
Hardware and software integration is easy We can easily build hardware protocol packages by creating c and c++ executables Real time website communication is possible using ROS Websocket and JavaScript bundle We can easily use deep learning frameworks like Tensorflow and Tensorrt in ROS nodes Ros is really helpful at allocating memory for multiple processes or nodes Ros2 tracing is really helpful to analysis
Con
Ros2 humble is crashing while continuously testing a system. We have to build the packages again or reboot the system To resolve the issues. ROS Websocket bridge is unable to handle multiple client issues in ROS melodic while publish ROS topic from a reactjs website. Rosauth package didn’t have proper documentation about user authentication. I didn’t face this issues in ROS2. In ROS2 humble, ‘get_node_names’ didn’t give all the running nodes. It missed some running nodes. But in system monitors we can see all the running nodes. ‘ps -ef’ command gave all the running nodes. And also python library ‘subprocess’ gave all the running nodes. In ROS2 humble, while we are running multiple process, if it didn’t get memory to run a node, it’s not giving any warnings or alerts. It simply stop executing that node. Rclnodejs library is not maintained properly. It’s crashing while npm installation itself. ROS serial is not a good choice for continuous usage. We feel in serial communication sending data in bytes is reliable. In ROS serial some times we missed data. In ROS2 humble, ‘ros2 topic list’ didn’t show any running topics in terminal. But rqt_graph is showing all the running topics and nodes Hardware protocol libraries like libmodbus are only available for old versions like ROS melodic. Not for ROS2
Robot
Car used is Jeep Compass. Robot used was a startup product

Loqmane HASSANE

Stäubli

Oct 28, 2022

  • Overall

    4/5

  • Meet Requirements

    4/5

  • Easy to Use

    3/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    4/5

  • Quality of Support

    3/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    4/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2018
Title
I used ROS within the framework of the SMART UHA project which precisely made it possible to implement and merge the different sensor data of the robot in order to obtain in particular clouds of points corresponding to the environment of the robot to allow it to move forward without encountering obstacles. At first I established the modeling of the robot under ROS (with the different benchmarks), then I proceeded to add its sensors.
Pro
First, I quickly found that ROS packages exist for just about everything. What is good is that ROS does not depend on a single programming language, we can very easily communicate between a Python node and a C++ node. It is also very interesting to be able to control several robots with ROS, because indeed it can work in multi-master mode (each robot has its own independent ROS system). And finally, ROS is lightweight, the ROS codebase doesn't take up much space and resources. You can install the base and start a project in just a few minutes.
Con
Since I really admire ROS, I don't have many bad points to write down. However it is true that compared to microcontrollers, ROS uses much more power and space, and has no guarantee of real-time control. In addition, it can also be complicated for a beginner with no experience in ROS to get started.
Robot
SMART UHA Robot

Abhishek Jain

USICT

Oct 28, 2022

  • Overall

    4.9/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    4/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    5/5

  • Quality of Support

    5/5

  • Compatibility

    5/5

  • Value for Money

    5/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2022
Title
This product/tech stack helped me perform the simulation of the project for which the hardware was costly. It helped me to work and understand the PX4 drone stack by simualting the real world scenarios and models without investing much.
Pro
It is free of cost, open source. It helps to test the approach in simulation before hardware implementation. It comes with proper documentation. Easy to understand.
Con
Requires high configuration laptop or device. Can support only linux (ubentu) OS.
Robot
PX4 drone (simulation)

Dhanush G

Western Digital

Aug 22, 2022

  • Overall

    4.9/5

  • Meet Requirements

    5/5

  • Easy to Use

    5/5

  • Quality of Documentation

    5/5

  • Quality of Support

    5/5

  • Compatibility

    4/5

  • Value for Money

    5/5

  • Recommendation

    5/5

Period
  • 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020
Title
Low cost implementation of Autonomous mobile robot using ROS with integrated LiDAR and camera.
Pro
The ROS community is really huge and very helpful when it comes to debugging and fixing errors. Since it's an open source software, anyone can use it and anyone can contribute, that makes it easier to implement complex systems.
Con
Developers keep shifting ROS distros every few years, although it has many advantages it takes time for developers to heavily contribute to a new distro after its launch and that makes it harder for newbies to learn ROS using the new distro.
Robot
Custom robot inspired by turtlebor3 waffle.